No-confidence motion filed against Lumbini Province Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: A no-confidence motion has been tabled against Lumbini Province Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel at Province Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday.

According to Indrajit Tharu, a Province Assembly Member representing the CPN (Maoist Center), lawmakers from Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), Janata Samajbadi Party and Rastriya Janamorcha have signed the no-confidence motion.

The motion tabled under the leadership of NC Parliamentary Party leader Birendra Kumar Kanodia has been signed by 34 lawmakers. Kul Prasad KC of CPN (Maoist Center) has been proposed as Chief Minister.

The lawmakers also met Province Chief Amik Sherchan and demanded to summon a special session of the Province Assembly.

On Monday, a total of 41 Lumbini Province Assembly members had submitted their signatures to the Province Chief demanding to make a call for forming a majority government as per Article 168(2) of the Constitution.

Opposition parties had filed a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel on April 19 after CPN (Maoist Center) withdrew its support from the government. But Chief Minister Pokharel recommended ending the Province Assembly session and resigned to skip the motion. Then, Pokharel had staked his claim for a single majority government before the then Province Chief Dharmanath Yadav.

Despite protest from opposition parties arguing that Pokharel doesn’t command the majority, Yadav had appointed Pokharel to the post and had administered the oath at the Chief Minister’s Office.