Chief Justice Rana assigns 11 benches for today

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: At a time when Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana is under immense pressure to resign, he has assigned 11 benches for hearing on Wednesday.

CJ Rana has assigned a constitutional bench of five Justices including himself. The Chief Justice has assigned a constitutional bench of senior Justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Mira Khadka, Hari Krishna Karki, and Bishowambhar Prasad Shrestha. Similarly, CJ Rana has fixed his single bench.

Similarly, CJ Rana has assigned nine benches including single and joint benches of other Justices.

Fifteen Supreme Court Justices are in favor of the resignation of Chief Justice Rana. However, Rana is adamant to step down and has been arguing that he would resign only if all the Justice dragged into controversy put in papers.

Also Read: Editorial | Nepal’s judiciary in crisis: Collusion among the judiciary, executive and legislature must end to ensure reforms