NC 14th General Convention: Deuba leading with 1,506 votes as 3,181 votes counted

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The counting of votes cast in the election held on Monday under the Nepali Congress’ 14th General Convention is underway.

As per the latest vote tally, Prime Minister and party President Sher Bahadur Deuba is leading the number of votes for the post of president. He has secured 1,506 votes out of the 3,181 votes counted so far. Dr Shekhar Koirala had got 1,178 votes, Prakashman Singh 254 votes, Bimalendra Nidhi 173 votes and Kalyan Gurung 15 votes.

A total of 4,679 out of the 4,743 voters had cast their ballots in the voting that ran from 11:45 am till 11:45 pm on Monday. The vote counting was started at 4:20 am today.

The counting of votes was started after completing all the antecedent processes like sealing off the ballot box, preparing the particulars and agreeing on the code of conduct for vote counting immediately after the voting was over.

As per the NC statute, a candidate vying for the post of president has to secure more than 50 percent of the votes cast to get elected. If any candidate fails to secure the required percentage of votes, then the second round of election is held among the two candidates securing the highest votes. The candidate securing the highest number of votes in the re-election is declared the winner.

The election was held for 132 posts including the party central working committee office-bearers and the members.

The counting of votes for the rest of the posts would be done at the party’s central office after concluding the counting for the post of party president, the Election Committee said.