Govt forms five-member commission to probe Tara Air aircraft crash

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The government has formed a five-member probe commission to investigate into Tara Air aircraft crash in western Nepal that claimed the lives of 22 people.

The Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation on Monday said it has formed the commission led by senior Aeronautical Engineer Ratish Chandra Lal Suman.

[RelatedIn pics: Search operation underway at Tara Air aircraft crash site]

According to a statement issued by the ministry, the commission has been mandated to find out the reason for the crash and recommend measures to prevent such incidents from happening in the future.

Captain Dipu Jwarchan, Senior Maintenance Engineer Upendra Lal Shrestha, Senior Meteorologist Mani Ratna Shakya and Technical Joint Secretary at the Ministry Buddhi Sagar Lamichhane are members of the probe team.

[Related: Preliminary investigation blames bad weather for Tara Air crash]