Ranju Darshana to contest upcoming federal election from Kathmandu-5

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Ranju Darshana (Neupane) has decided to contest from Kathmandu Constituency-5 in the upcoming House of Representatives election. Darshana made the announcement on Saturday through Facebook.

Darshana, who is not affiliated with any political party currently, however, is yet to decide if she will run as an independent candidate. Darshana, a popular leader of the Bibeksheel Sajha Party, had left the party following ideological differences between the two factions of the party.

“I am happy to share with you that I will be contesting for the post of Member of the House of Representatives from Kathmandu Constituency-5 in the upcoming election,” she wrote on her Facebook.

Ishwor Pokharel of the CPN-UML was elected from Kathmandu-5 in the previous federal election.

At that time, the then president of Bibeksheel Party Ujjwal Thapa had contested in the federal election from the constituency. He had garnered 6,853 votes.

Darshana contested for mayoral position in Kathmandu Metropolis in 2017 local elections. Darshana was defeated by Bidya Sundar Shakya of CPN-UML by 23,439 votes.