Madhesh Province: Chief Minister Raut sacks three Congress ministers

The sacking comes on the heels of dismissal of four Janata Samajwadi Party ministers by PM Deuba after the party switched the camp to form an electoral alliance with UML.

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: A day after Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba dismissed four ministers of the Janata Samajwadi Party, Madhesh Province Chief Minister Lal Babu Rawat sacked three ministers in his Cabinet representing the Nepali Congress.

CM Raut relieved Minister for Physical Infrastructure Ram Saroj Yadav, Minister for Women Children Birendra Singh, and Minister for Drinking Water Om Prakash Sharma of their responsibility on Friday.

The Office of Chief Minister in a statement said the Chief Minister has recommended before Province Chief to dismiss the ministers.

Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), and CPN (Unified Socialist) had supported the government to maintain the majority after the Mahanta Thakur formed Loktantrik Samajwadi Party following a split from the Janata Samajwadi Party.

Chief Minister Raut will look after the portfolios of the sacked ministers.

Prime Minister Deuba on Thursday had relieved four ministers representing the Janata Samajbadi Party from their posts.

In accordance with Article 77 (2.b) of the Constitution of Nepal, PM Deuba had relieved the Minister for Federal Affairs and General Administration, Rajendra Prasad Shrestha; Minister for Agriculture and Livestock, Mrigendra Kumar Singh; Minister for Physical Infrastructures and Transport, Istiyak Raye; and Minister for Forest and Environment, Pradip Yadav.