Mahanta Thakur moves EC against decision to take action against Lumbini Province Assembly lawmakers

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Chairman of Janata Samajwadi Party Mahanta Thakur reached the Election Commission of Friday demanding not to implement the decision to take action against its Lumbini Province Assembly lawmakers.

Thakur moved EC after the Province Assembly Secretariat issued a notice on Thursday mentioning that JSP lawmakers Santosh Kumar Pandey, Vijay Bahadur Yadav, Suman Sharma Rayamajhi, and Kalpana Pandey have lost their positions.

A JSP faction represented by Chairman Upendra Yadav and Federal Council Chairman Baburam Bhattarai had sent a letter to the secretariat mentioning that they were expelled from the party through a decision by an executive committee.

However, Thakur has claimed that the meeting of the executive committee of the party has not been held since December 22, 2020, and no notice has been issued to convene the meeting.

In the letter, Thakur has demanded that EC should not take any action based on the ‘illegal’ decision.