Floor test for PM Oli: Will Covid-19 positive lawmakers be allowed to vote?

A health worker collects a swab sample of a lawmaker. (Photo: NL Today)

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: A total of 13 lawmakers have been so far diagnosed positive for Covid-19 in tests being held ahead of a meeting of a special session of the Parliament summoned for Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli to take a vote of confidence.

So far, former Prime Minister and lawmaker Jhalanath Khanal and Ministers Bhanubhakta Dhakal, Julie Mahato, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, and Lekhraj Bhatt have been diagnosed positive for the coronavirus.

Similarly, lawmakers Khimlal Bhattarai, Kisan Shrestha, Suresh Kumar Rai, and Pushpa Kumari Karna are also in isolation after being diagnosed positive.

Likewise, four lawmakers of Janata Samajwadi Party including Laxman Lal Karna have been diagnosed positive for coronavirus on Thursday. Lawmakers Naramaya Dhakal, Parvati DC Chaudhary, and Rambabu Kumar Yadav have tested positive.

The Parliament Secretariat on Wednesday had collected swab samples of 600 people including lawmakers, said Rojnath Pandey, Spokesperson of the Parliament Secretariat.

Pandey added that swab samples are being collected today as well.

The Parliament Secretariat has not yet decided whether to allow the coronavirus-positive lawmakers to take part in the parliament meeting and cast their votes.

According to Pandey, the Secretariat and Speaker Agni Sapkota are discussing the matter and will decide soon.