Constitutional Council makes recommendations to constitutional commissions

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Constitutional Council has recommended various individuals for appointment to different vacant posts of the constitutional commissions.

The Council has recommended Madhab Prasad Regmi (Jhapa) as the chairperson of the Public Service Commission and Madhav Belbase (Kapilvastu), Bir Bahadur Rai (Ilam), Udaya Silwal (Lalitpur), and Manju Kumari (Mahottai) as its members.

A meeting of the Council on Sunday recommended Dr Ram Krishna Timilsena (Kaski) as the chairperson of the National Inclusion Commission and Pushpa Raj Timilsina (Parbat) and Man Prasad Khatry (Bajhang) as its members.
The Council recommended Dr Hari Poudel (Baglung) and Dr Sumitra Shrestha (Lalitpur) as members of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA).

Sagun Shumsher JB Rana (Rupandehi) has been recommended as a member of the Election Commission while Bipin Raj Niraula (Panchthar) and Sudha Kumari Jha (Dhanusha) are recommended as members of the Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission.

Likewise, Jaya Ghimire (Dhanusha) and Sabitri Kumari Sharma Tiwari (Parbat) are recommended as members of the National Women Commission. Other recommended names are Surya Bahadur Gurung (Khotang) as a member of Indigenous Nationalities Commission, Abha Kumari (Saptari) as a member of Madhesi Commission, Dr Uma Shanker Chaudhary (Nawalparasi, Bardaghat Susta West) as a member of Tharu Commission and Mohammad Samsul Haq (Sarlahi) as a member of the Muslim Commission.

National Assembly Chairperson Ganesh Prasad Timilsina shared that the Constitutional Council has made recommendations for the vacant positions in the commissions.

Earlier, the Council meeting had recommended for the appointment of half of the vacant posts of office-bearers. With this appointment, the constitutional commission has taken full shape.