Opposition parties fail to stake claim for new majority govt, Oli reappointed PM

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: As opposition parties failed to claim the stake for a new majority government within the deadline set by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari, K P Sharma Oli of CPN-UML has been appointed Prime Minister again.

After Oli had failed to secure the confidence of the House, President Bhandari on May 10 had called a lawmaker for claiming premiership with the support of two or more than two political parties by 9 pm today as per Article 76 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

As no lawmakers laid claim for the government’s premiership, Oli was appointed Prime Minister under Article 76 (3) of the Constitution as he is the Parliamentary Party leader of the party that has the highest number of members in the House of Representatives. Earlier today, opposition parties— Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN (Moist Center) — decided not to claim for a majority government.

Now, Oli should obtain a vote of confidence from the House of Representatives no later than thirty days.

The lawmakers of the Madhav Kumar Nepal faction of CPN-UML had given an ultimatum till 4 pm today demanding the withdrawal of all the decisions made after the Supreme Court didn’t acknowledge the unification between UML and CPN (Maoist Center) to form the Nepal Communist Party and take the party back to the status of May 16, 2018.

However, after a meeting between PM Oli and senior leader Nepal, the faction decided to wait for a few days before resigning en masse. The lawmakers of the Nepal faction had abstained from the voting on the confidence motion tabled by the Prime Minister.