Deuba, Oli present claims for leading new govt pursuant to Article 76 (5)

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba and Prime Minister and CPN-UML Chairman K P Sharma Oli on Friday presented their claims for forming a new government.

NC President Deuba staked a claim to lead a new government pursuant to Article 76 (5) of the Constitution with signatures of 149 signatures of lawmakers of NC, CPN (Maoist Center), Janata Samajbadi Party, and UML’s Madhav Kumar Nepal faction. A total of 27 lawmakers from UML’s Nepal faction and 13 from JSP have signed.

Earlier, Oli, too, staked a claim to lead a new government and registered a letter at the President’s Office. Chief Advisor to PM Oli, Bishnu Rimal, said Oli has the support of 121 lawmakers of UML and 32 lawmakers of the Janata Samajbadi Party.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on Thursday had called upon the Members of Parliament (MPs) to submit their claim for the premiership till 5:00 pm today to appoint the Prime Minister as per Article 76 (5) of the Constitution of Nepal.