11 leaders including Madhav Nepal expelled from UML

Madhav Kumar Nepal

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The CPN-UML has expelled 11 leaders including senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal from the party.

A Standing Committee meeting of the party held at the Prime Minister’s residence in Baluwatar expelled them from the general membership of the party.

Along with leader Nepal, Jhala Nath Khanal, Bhim Bahadur Rawal, Kalyani Khadka, Ram Kumari Jhankri, Sarala Yadav, Mukunda Nepal, Pushpa Kumari Karna, Kalila Khan, Nira Devi Jairu and Laxmi Kumari Chaudhary have been expelled from the party.

A meeting of the party held on Saturday had sought clarifications from them for their involvement in the signature campaign for the opposition party to remove party Chairman K P Sharma Oli from the prime ministerial post. They were asked to furnish clarification within two days.

Standing Committee member Mani Thapa said that they were expelled from the party after they didn’t respond.

The meeting also decided to seek clarification from 12 more leaders including Ghanashyam Bhushal and Surendra Pandey. The outgoing MPs had also signed in favor of Sher Bahadur Deuba’s claim to form a government as per Article 76 (5) of the Constitution on May 21.

Likewise, the meeting chaired by UML chair and Prime Minister Oli decided to withdraw the party’s support to the government led by Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta in Sudurpaschim Province and to withdraw its ministers from the provincial cabinet.