Devkota takes oath from NA Chair

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Newly-elected member of the National Assembly (NA), Khimlal Devkota, took the oath of office and secrecy from the NA Chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina today.

Chairperson Timilsina also handed the insignia of the Federal Parliament to Devkota on the occasion. The oath-taking program was held at the Federal parliament secretariat in Singha Durbar.

National Assembly vice-chair Sashikala Dahal and secretary-general of the Parliament Secretariat Bharat Gautam among the officials welcomed Devkota and wished him a successful term.

Devkota was elected the member of the National Assembly, the upper house of the Federal Parliament, in the by-election to the National Assembly from the Bagmati Province, held on May 20.

He stood as an independent candidate in the by-election. He defeated the then Home Minister and CPN-UML candidate Ram Bahadur Thapa.