House dissolution against Supreme Court’s verdict: Former Chief Justices

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Four Former Chief Justices (CJs) have termed the dissolution of the House of Representatives for the second time as an act against the Supreme Court’s verdict.

Issuing a joint statement on Friday former CJs— Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anupraj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha, and Sushila Karki—commented that the court’s verdict was ignored to fulfill vested interest.

“An attempt was made to create a condition for the Prime Minister to remain in office despite the constitutional provision that he would be disqualified from holding office as per the law after failing to get a vote of confidence from the House of Representatives. Such a situation can be dangerous for democracy,” reads the statement.

They added that provisions of Article 76 were practiced going against the spirit of the Constitution and the essence of democracy and it has increased the danger of ending the significance of the Constitution.