Supreme Court forms Constitutional Bench to hear writs against House dissolution

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Supreme Court (SC) on Friday formed a five-member Constitutional Bench headed by Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher JBR to hear writs filed against the dissolution of the House of Representatives.

The bench also includes Justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Ananda Mohan Bhattarai, Tej Bahadur KC, and Bam Kumar Shrestha. The bench will hear 30 writs filed against the dissolution.

Earlier on Thursday, a single bench of CJ Rana had forwarded the petitions to the Constitutional Bench after a preliminary hearing on 19 writs filed challenging the dissolution. Four out of 19 petitions have been filed seeking the appointment of K P Sharma Oli as the Prime Minister in accordance with Article 76 (5) of the Constitution.

Legal practitioners and opposition alliance had moved the court after President Bidhya Devi Bhandari, in the wee hours of Saturday, had dissolved the House of Representatives and had announced mid-term elections to be held in two phases.

The opposition alliance had moved the court with signatures of 146 lawmakers seeking a mandamus order to reinstate the House of Representatives and appoint Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba as Prime Minister.