JSP Bhattarai-Yadav faction expels four leaders including Chairman Mahantha Thakur from party

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Baburam Bhattarai-Upendra Yadav faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has expelled four leaders including Chairman Mahantha Thakur from the party.

A meeting of Central Executive Committee of the faction expelled Chairman Thakur, senior leader Rajendra Mahato and Executive Committee members Sarbendra Nath Shukla and Laxman Lal Karna, said Secretary of the party office Prakash Adhikari. The faction had sought clarifications from the leaders which they had declined to submit.

The party is divided over whether to support Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli or remove him from the post. The Bhattarai-Yadav faction had been active against Oli and had supported Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba as a new Prime Minister. The Thakur faction had extended its support to Oli and is about to join the incumbent government.

Also Read: One faction to join the govt, the other for revolt: Where is JSPN heading?