CJ Rana forms Constitutional Bench with Justices on seniority basis to hear petitions against citizenship ordinance

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Chief Justice (CJ) Cholendra Shumsher JBR has formed a Constitutional Bench based on seniority of Justices to hear writs filed against citizenship ordinance.

The bench headed by CJ Rana includes Justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Mira Khadka, Hari Krishna Karki, and Ishwor Prasad Khatiwada. Khatiwada was included in the bench as Justice Bishwombhar Shrestha has been infected with the coronavirus.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari on May 23 had issued the Nepal Citizenship (First Amendment) Ordinance on the recommendation of the Cabinet.

Earlier, CJ Rana was criticized for breaching seniority while forming a bench to hear cases against House dissolution. He had announced that a new bench will be constituted on the basis of seniority to hear cases against House dissolution after legal practitioners had demanded that Justices Bamkumar Shrestha and Tej Bahadur KC should recuse themselves from the bench.