PM Oli reshuffles Cabinet, inducts eight ministers and two state ministers from JSPN

All except four incumbent ministers sacked

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli on Friday reshuffled the Council of Ministers, inducting eight ministers and two state ministers from the Mahantha Thakur-Rajendra Mahato faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (JSPN).

The PM removed all except four ministers representing the government from UML, retaining only Bishnu Prasad Poudel, Krishna Gopal Shrestha, Lilanath Shrestha, and Basanta Nembang. All the newly-appointed ministers took an oath of office and secrecy at Sheetal Niwas, the President’s Office this evening.

Ministers and Portfolios

Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli: Defense, Home, Communication and Information Technology, Tourism, Agriculture, Industry, Commerce and Supplies, and General Administration

Bishnu Poudel: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance

Rajendra Mahato: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Urban Development

Raghubir Mahaseth: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs

Sher Bahadur Tamang: Minister for Health

Krishna Gopal Shrestha: Minister for Education

Basanta Kumar Nembang: Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport

Lilanath Shrestha: Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs

Sarat Singh Bhandari: Minister for Energy

Anil Jha: Minister for Water Supply

Bimal Shrivastav: Minister for Labor and Employment

Umashankar Aragaria: Minister for Forest and Environment

Laxman Lal Karna: Minister for Land Management

Chanda Chaudhary: Minister for Women, Children, and Senior Citizens

Ekwal Miya: Minister for Youth and Sports

Chandrakant Chaudhary: Minister of State for Energy

Renuka Gurung: Minister of State for Women, Children and Senior Citizens