PM Oli expands Cabinet, seven ministers and one state minister inducted

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: At a time when a case against an earlier Cabinet reshuffle is sub-judice at the Supreme Court (SC), Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Thursday expanded the Cabinet again inducting seven new ministers and one state minister.

Khagaraj Adhikari has been appointed Home Minister, Nainkala Thapa Minister for Communication and Information Technology, Raj Kishore Yadav Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, Ganesh Pahadi Minister for General Administration, Mohan Baniya Minister without portfolio to look after Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Naradamuni Rana Minister for Forests and Environment and Jwalakumari Sah Minister for Agriculture.

Likewise, Asha BK has been appointed Minister of State for Forests. PM Oli is looking after Defense Ministry.

The new ministers will take an oath of office and secrecy at 4 pm today.

Prime Minister Oli on Friday had reshuffled the Council of Ministers, inducting eight ministers and two state ministers from the Mahantha Thakur-Rajendra Mahato faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (JSPN).

A total of six writs have been filed at the apex court against the Cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Oli. During a preliminary hearing on the writs on Tuesday, a single bench of Justice Ishwor Khatiwada had issued a show-cause notice to the defendants and summoned both petitioners and defendants for the next hearing scheduled for June 22.