JSPN Yadav-Bhattarai faction expels nine ministers from party

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Upendra Yadav and Baburam Bhattarai faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (JSPN) has expelled nine ministers joining the KP Sharma Oli-led government.

A meeting of the majority members of the Central Executive Committee of the party held on Thursday decided to expel them from the party.

Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Sharat Singh Bhandari, Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies Minister Raj Kishor Yadav, Minister for Water Supply Anil Jha, Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Umashankar Argariya, and Minister for Sports Akabal Miya have been dismissed from the party.

Similarly, Minister for Women, Children and Senior Citizens Chanda Chaudhary, Minister for Labor, Employment and Social Security Bimal Prasad Shrivastav, Minister of State for Energy Chandrakant Chaudhary, and Minister of State for Women, Children, and Senior Citizens Renuka Gurung have also been expelled from the party.

The faction had asked the ministers to furnish explanations within seven days on why they joined the government. Earlier, the faction had taken action against another Chairman Mahantha Thakur, and the leaders of Thakur faction for supporting the incumbent government.

The Yadav-Bhattarai faction commands a majority in the 51-member committee.