President Bhandari appoints office-bearers to constitutional bodies

President Bhandari

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Thursday appointed office-bearers to the Public Service Commission (PSC) and members in many other constitutional bodies on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council.

The recommendations for the appointments of 20 positions were made 45 days before by the Constitutional Council, Spokesperson at the Office of the President Rup Narayan Bhattarai said. As per the constitutional provision, the recommended individuals could be appointed after 45 days of the recommendations from the Constitutional Council if their hearing could not happen in the Parliamentary Hearing Committee.

The newly-appointed are Madhav Prasad Regmi as the Chairman of PSC. Likewise, Madhav Belbase, Bir Bahadur Rai, Dinesh Silwal, and Manju Kumari were appointed as members of the PSC.

Similarly, Dr Hari Poudel and Sumitra Shrestha were appointed as members of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA); Sagun Shumsher JBR as the commissioner of the Election Commission and Bipinraj Niraula as the member of the National Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission.

Jaya Ghimire, Sabitri Kumar Sharma, and Sundar Purkoti were appointed as members of the National Women Commission.

Furthermore, Dr Ram Krishna Timalsena was appointed as the Chairman of the National Inclusion Commission while Pushpa Raj Timilsina and Man Prasad Khatri were appointed as the members.

Surya Bahadur Gurung was appointed as the member of Indigenous Nationalities Commission, Abha Kumari as the member of Madhesi Commission and Uma Shankar Prasad Chaudhary and Shanti Modi as the members of Tharu Commission.

Mohammad Samshul Hak was appointed the member of the Muslim Commission, according to the Press Statement released by Spokesperson at the Office of President Bhattarai.

With the appointments, the constitutional bodies have full membership after remaining vacant for a long time.