Supreme Court stays dismissal of Rautahat mayors

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Supreme Court (SC) has stayed the dismissal of Rina Kumari Sah, Mayor of Maulapur Municipality, and Siyaram Kusahawa, Mayor of Katahariya Municipality of Rautahat.

A single bench of Justice Kumar Chundal issued an interim order against the decision by Election Commission and sought a written reply from defendants within 15 days.

The court ordered not to implement the decision immediately staying that it was unclear if they had left CPN (Maoist Center) and formed another party or joined another party or resigned. The bench maintained that their dismissal will cause irreparable damage to the work and rights of the local levels as they are the heads of the directly elected local executives.

The CPN (Maoist Center) had sent a letter to the Election Commission stating that 14 local people’s representatives from different districts, including Mayor Sah and Kusahawa, had left the party and joined the CPN-UML. The commission had issued a notice of their dismissal based on the letter.