Newly-appointed PM Deuba, four new ministers take oath of office and secrecy

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Newly-appointed Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba took an oath of office and secrecy on Tuesday evening. President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath to Deuba at a special ceremony at Sheetal Niwas, the President’s Office.

The oath-taking ceremony was delayed after PM Deuba refused to take the oath saying that a statement issued by the President’s Office didn’t mention that he was appointed as per Article 76 (5) of the Constitution.

An earlier statement issued by the Office of the President stated that NC PP leader Deuba has been appointed the Prime Minister in accordance with the July 12 verdict of the Supreme Court’s Constitutional Bench.

PM Deuba became ready for the oath after the President’s Office corrected the statement mentioning that Deuba was appointed as per Article 76 (5).

It’s Deuba’s fifth term as a Prime Minister. Deuba had previously served four terms as the Prime Minister of Nepal from 1995 to 1997, 2001 to 2002, 2004 to 2005, and 2017 to 2018. Now, Deuba needs to win a vote of confidence motion in the lower house within 30 days to remain in office.

Along with Deuba, four ministers also took the office of secrecy.

New ministers:

Minister for Finance: Janardan Sharma
Minister for Energy: Pampha Bhusal
Home Minister: Bal Krishna Khand
Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs: Gyanendra Bahadur Karki