Deuba administration cancels the appointment of ambassadors to 11 countries

File photo

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepal’s new government led by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has canceled the appointment of ambassadors to 11 countries made by the erstwhile KP Oli-led government.

A Cabinet meeting held on Friday took a decision to that effect. 

The appointees recommended by the Oli government included Nirmal Raj Kafle for Austria, Ramesh Chandra Poudel for Sri Lanka, Jeevan Prakash Shrestha for Egypt, Krishna Chandra Sharma for South Korea, Janga Bahadur Chauhan for Russia, Sumnima Tuladhar for Australia, Narayan Prasad Sangraula for Myanmar, Kul Prasad Nepal for Brazil, Sumitra Subedi for Denmark, Meraj Musalman for Saudi Arab and Yuvaraj Karki for Bahrain.

The recommendation was challenged at the Supreme Court, which on June 27 issued an interim order to cancel the appointment of Yuvaraj Karki stating the appointee did not meet the qualification criteria.