Former CPN (Maoist Center) leaders file petition at SC demanding to reinstate them as lawmakers

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Four former CPN (Maoist Center) leaders have filed a petition at the Supreme Court (SC) on Wednesday demanding to reinstate them as lawmakers.

Former Maoist leaders— Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Lekhraj Bhatta, Prabhu Sah, and Gauri Shankar Chaudhary—who were dismissed from the House of Representatives reached the apex demanding reinstatement.

They have claimed that the decision of the Parliament Secretariat to sack them as lawmakers based on a letter of CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ is against the constitution, prevalent laws, and the statute of the party. They have demanded with the court to issue a mandamus order to reinstate them.

Earlier, the leaders who had defected to CPN-UML had filed a complaint with the Election Commission demanding to scrap the registration of CPN (Maoist Center). However, the Election Commission had annulled the application instead.