Top leaders discuss Cabinet expansion

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Top leaders of the Nepali Congress (NC), CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist), Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP), Nepal and Rastriya Janamorcha have agreed to give full shape to the incumbent government as soon as possible.

A meeting among the top leaders of the parties took place at the Prime Minister’s official residence, Baluwatar today ended with this agreement. The meeting was coordinated by Prime Minister and NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba.

The NC and Maoist Centre are the current ruling partners. NC President Deuba had become the Prime Minister on July 13 on the support of Maoist Centre, JSP Nepal, Rastriya Janomorcha and a faction led by the then CPN-UML leader Madhav Kumar Nepal who now chairs the CPN (Unified Socialist) formed following a split from the UML.

Today’s meeting also reviewed the contemporary political issues and leaders present in the meeting had given advice to the Prime Minister in regard to the government operation, according to NC general secretary Purna Bahadur Khadka.

NC President Deuba, senior leader Ramchandra Poudel, leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Maoist Centre’s Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Unified Socialist’s Chair Nepal, JSP Council Chair Dr Baburam Bhattarai and Chair Upendra Yadav were among those present in the meeting.