Astalaxmi Shakya loses majority as 12 UML lawmakers in Bagmati Province join CPN (Unified Socialist)

Bagmati Province Chief Astalaxmi Shakya. (File photo/NL Today)

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: A total of 12 UML Province Assembly in Bagmati Province have opted to join CPN (Unified Socialist).

The people’s representatives of the province and local level were allowed to choose the party from Tuesday after the Election Commission registered CPN (Unified Socialist) following the split of UML.

UML lawmakers Rajendra Pandey, Munu Sigdel, Basundhara Humagain, Laxman Lamshal, Rajendraman Shrestha, Parvati Silwal, Indramaya Gurung, Madhav Poudel, Basanta Manandhar, Rama Ale Magar, Kusum Kumar Karki and Krishna Prasad Sharma have decided to join CPN (Unified Socialist).

With this, the Astalaxmi Shakya-led government has lost the majority in the provincial assembly.