Chitwan registers second win in Everest Premier League

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Chitwan Tigers defeated Kathmandu Kings XI by three wickets to register its second victory in the fourth edition of the Everest Premier League (EPL) T20 Cricket tournament.

In the match held at the TU Cricket ground in Kirtipur today, put to bat first after losing the toss, Kathmandu scored 141 runs at the loss of 8 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Subash Khakurel top-scored for Kathmandu with 35 runs while Raju Rijal contributed 28 runs. Similarly, Janak Prakash scored 26 runs while Rahmanullah Gurbaj added five runs. Captain Sandeep Lamichhane remained unbeaten on 7 runs.

For Chitwan, Sagar Dhakal took four wickets while Karim Janat took two wickets. Kamal Airy and Sekuge Prasanna took one wicket each.

In reply, Chitwan completed the victory target of 142 runs set by Kathmandu at the loss of seven wickets in 18.4 overs.

Rajesh Pulami top-scored with 26 runs in Chitwan’s victory. Kamal Singh Airy remained unbeaten on 23 runs. Similarly, Dilip Nath scored 23 runs, Karim Janat 21 runs and Mohammad Sahajad 21 runs.

For Kathmandu, Jitendra Mukhiya and Ryan Burl of Kathmandu took two wickets each while Janak Prakash, Sandeep Lamichhane and Gulshan Jha took one wicket each.

In the first match, Chitwan had defeated Biratnagar Warriors. Hence, Chitwan has added four points in two games. Kathmandu has two points in two games.

Kathmandu had defeated Lalitpur Patriots in the inaugural match of the tournament.