KP Oli elected UML’s Chairman for the second term

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: KP Sharma has been elected Chairman of Communist Party of Nepal – Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) for the second time in a row through the tenth National Congress of the party.

Oli secured 1,840 votes out of 2,096 votes cast. Rawal got only 220 votes. Now, he will lead the party for four more years.

Oli was elected UML Chairman through the ninth National Congress of the party defeating Madhav Kumar Nepal by 46 votes.

Likewise, leaders from the Oli panel got elected Vice-Chairmen. Astalaxmi Shakya secured her victory by receiving 1,976 votes, Surendra Pandey got 1,925 votes, Subash Nembang 1,865 and Bishnu Poudel garnered 1,856 votes.

Similarly, Yubaraj Gyawali got 1,842 votes and Ram Bahadur Thapa ‘Badal’ got 1,768 votes. Ghanshyam Bhusal lost the race getting only 725 votes.

Likewise, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Raghubir Mahaseth, Chhabilal Bishwakarma, Lekhraj Bhatta, Yogesh Bhattarai, Gokarna Bista, Padma Aryal got elected as secretaries. Bhim Acharya and Tanka Karki faced defeat.

The tenth National Congress of CPN-UML unanimously elected Senior Vice-Chairman, General Secretary, and Joint General Secretaries. Ishwor Pokharel has been elected to the post of senior Vice-Chairman. Shankar Pokharel General Secretary and Pradeep Gyawali, Prithvi Subba Gurung, and Bishnu Rimal have also been elected unopposed after no candidacies were filed. The names were proposed by Chairman KP Sharma Oli on Sunday night.

The National Congress elected a 301-member central committee. The National Congress was inaugurated on November 26 on the bank of the Narayani River in Narayangadh. The closed session of the National Congress took place at Sauraha. The election has been held today after efforts to elect the office-bearers and the central committee through consensus failed. A total of 100 candidates had filed their candidacy for 84 posts for central committee members under the open category.