NC central election body unveils final list of candidates, five competing for President

Nepali Congress Convenction

NL Today

  • Read Time 2 min.

Kathmandu: The Nepali Congress (NC) Central Election Committee has unveiled the final name list of the candidates who are contesting for various posts in the party’s 14th General Convention which is underway in Kathmandu since December 10. 

According to the list, Sher Bahadur Deuba, Bimalendra Nidhi, Prakashman Singh, Dr Shekhar Koirala and Kalyan Kumar Gurung have filed candidacies for the post of President. Yuba Raj Neupane, General Convention representative from Gorkha, who had earlier filed his candidacy for the post of President, withdrew his candidacy today.  

As alliances are shifting on the eve of voting in the General Convention, the Congress Central Election Committee unveils the names of the contestants for the post of president and other vital positions. Voting scheduled from 8 am to 5 pm on Monday.

Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar, Purna Bahadur Khadka, Mahesh Acharya, Sujata Koirala, Dr Chandra Bhandari, Dhanraj Gurung, and Dibyashwori Shah will be vying for the posts of two vice-presidents while six candidates–Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Dr Minendra Rijal, Bishwa Prakash Sharma, Gagan Kumar Thapa, Pradeep Poudel and Dr Rajaram Karki–are competing for the seats of two general secretaries. 

Kamala Pant and Deena Mahalaxmi Upadhyay are the candidates for the joint-general secretary under women’s quota, while Man Bahadur Bishwakarma, Jeevan Pariyar and Ganga Sunar have filed their candidacies for the post of joint-general secretary under Dalit quota.  

Likewise, Bikash Lama and Bhishmaraj Angdembe are competing for the post of joint-general secretary from the indigenous nationalities quota, while Dev Raj Chalise and Kishore Singh Rathor have registered their candidacies for the same post from Khas-Arya quota. 

Ranjeet Karna, Ram Krishna Yadav and Mahendra Yadav have filed their candidacies for one joint general secretary post from Madhesi category. Similarly, Farmullah Mansoor and Shekh Wokil are the candidates for one joint general secretary from Muslim cluster. 

Tejulal Chaudhary and Umakanta Chaudhary are competing for the one joint general secretary post under the Tharu category after Surendra Prasad Chaudhary withdrew his nomination. 

From the backward region cluster, Badri Prasad Pandey, Jeevan Bahadur Shahi and Chetraj Bajal are vying for the one joint general secretary post. 

Total of 4,743 general convention representatives are voting to elect the president and other vital posts in Nepali Congress’ General Convention. They were elected from 165 federal electoral constituencies and the party’s sister organizations, well-wisher organizations and the public relations committee abroad. 

The voting is scheduled from 8 am to 5 pm on Monday.