Gagan Thapa, Bishwa Prakash Sharma elected NC general secretaries

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepali Congress, the largest democratic party of Nepal, has elected two young leaders–Gagan Thapa and Bishwa Prakash Sharma–as general secretaries of the party.

Thapa bagged 3,023 votes, while Sharma garnered 1,984 votes in the election for the post of general secretaries.

Other aspirants for the post, Prakash Sharan Mahat got 1,556 votes and Pradip Poudel 1,393 votes. Likewise, Minendra Rijal garnered 809 votes and Dr Rajaram Karki received 106 votes.

Thapa had contested from the anti-establishment camp, led by Dr Shekhar Koirala, while Sharma from the Prakash Man Singh-led camp.