Voting for new leadership in NC Province-2 underway

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Voting is taking place since 8 am on Thursday to pick a new leadership of the Nepali Congress in Province-2.

Though it was scheduled for Wednesday, the Election Committee had postponed the voting process and set it for Thursday morning citing a delay in printing ballot papers.

Election Committee coordinator Prahlad Gautam said that voting is set to take place at Gopal Dharmashala in Janakpurdham.

When efforts for picking leadership on consensus remained abortive, both sides have intensified their election campaigns separately.

The establishment side has registered candidacy of its panel under the leadership of NC Rautahat district President Krishna Yadav while another side has presented its panel under the leadership of NC province-2 parliamentary party leader Ramsaroj Yadav.

As many as 174 candidates have filed their candidacy for a total of 72 posts. Five members among them were already elected unopposed and six have already withdrawn their candidacy.

There are 2,000 voters, including 25 each from 64 province electoral constituencies of eight districts in Province-2.