CPN (Maoist Centre) to have 15 central office-bearers

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The CPN (Maoist Centre) has finalized the number of its central office-bearers. A meeting of the Central Committee of the party made this decision on Friday, proposing 15 central office-bearers. The meeting of the Central Committee today endorsed the proposal, party’s spokesperson Krishna Bahadur Mahara said. According to him, now a 299-member Central Committee, including the 15 office-holders would be elected from the National Conference being held in the capital from Sunday. The CPN (Maoist Centre) has opted for a multiple-post system. 

As per the statute passed by the Central Committee, the party will have one Chairperson, one Senior Vice Chairperson, six Vice Chairpersons, one General Secretary, two Deputy General Secretaries, three Secretaries and one Treasurer. The party decided on Saturday to rename the First National Conference as General Convention. 

The eighth General Convention of the party is scheduled to be inaugurated at 3 pm today at Nepal Academy. Representatives and delegates have arrived in Kathmandu from the districts to attend the General Convention. There are 1,631 representatives including the nominated ones.