National Assembly polls today

NL Today

  • Read Time 2 min.

Kathmandu: Voting for 19 vacant posts of National Assembly members is taking place from 9 am today. Voting will be held in eight voting centers and 14 polling booths placed in different provinces across the country from 9 am to 3 pm on Wednesday.

Election Commission Spokesperson Shaligram Poudel shared that all necessary preparation for the NA election, including security arrangements and health safety protocols have been made in voting stations and booths. As informed, voters have already reached the cities having voting centers and polling booths.
The province assembly members, mayors/chairpersons and deputy mayors/deputy chairpersons of the local level are eligible to vote in the NA election.

The polling booths for mayor/chairpersons and deputy mayor/deputy chairpersons of local level have been set at the provincial election office and Plant Protection Laboratory Biratnagar for province assembly members in Province 1. Likewise, Mahendranarayan Nidhi Bhawanhas been designated for Madhesh Province and Industrial Area Management Limited’s Assembly Hall for Bagmati Province.

Similarly, a polling booth has been designated in Pokhara for Gandaki Province, Karmachari Milan Kendra Dang for Lumbini Province, Province Election Office Surkhet for Karnali Province ad Province Assembly Building Dhangadhi for Sudurpaschim Province.

The election for NA member is taking as the tenure of eight NA members from CPN-UML, four from CPN (Unified Socialist), four from CPN (Maoist Center) and three from Nepali Congress is expiring on coming March 4.

There is a provision that the election should be held before 35 days of the expiry of the tenure. The candidates from Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist), Rastriya Janamorcha, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal, Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party, Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Prajatantra Party are contesting in the election. A total of 2,025 voters are casting their ballot in the NA election The poll will elect seven from the women category, three from Dalit category, two from people with disability or minority category and seven from other category.