PNG beats Malaysia by eight wickets in Triangular T20I Series

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Papua New Guinea defeated Malaysia by eight wickets in a match today under the Triangular T20 International Cricket Series underway at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground.

Chasing down the 197-run target by Malaysia, Papua New Guinea achieved the target in 17.5 overs at the loss of two wickets. Invited into bat first after losing the toss, Malaysia made 196 runs in the allotted 20 overs losing six wickets.

For Malaysia, Syed Aziz hit the highest 64 runs off 35 balls with eight boundaries and three sixes. Similarly, Captain Ahmad Faiz contributed 63 runs off 43 balls with five fours and three sixes and Zubaidi Zulkifle 46 runs off 22 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. Also, Virandeep Singh hit 10 runs off 15 balls.

For Papua New Guinea, Kabua Morea claimed four wickets and Chad Soper and Riley Hekure one each.

Similarly, Tony Ura remained unbeaten on 86 runs off 34 balls with 10 sixes and two fours. Likewise, Captain Assad Vala also remained unbeaten on 74 off 51 balls with one six and eight fours.

For Malaysia, Muhammad Wafiq and Syazrul Idrus claimed one wicket each.

Malaysia is facing Nepal in a match under the Series on Saturday. Nepal has already entered its finals by winning all its three matches.