Ruling coalition finalizes seat-sharing for metropolises

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The ruling coalition has forged an agreement on seat-sharing for metropolises for the local polls slated for May 13.

A meeting of top leaders of the alliance held on Tuesday agreed to field Nepali Congress candidates in three metropolises and a candidate of CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajbadi Party in the remaining three metropolises.

As per the agreement, CPN (Unified Socialist) will contest for Mayor of Pokhara, CPN (Maoist Center) for Bharatpur and Janata Samajbadi Party for Birgunj.

Nepali Congress will vie in Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Biratnagar as a common candidate from the alliance.