Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship Tees begins today

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The seventh event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2021-22, Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship will tee off today at Gokarna Golf Club.

The event will be played over 72 holes from May 9 and conclude on May 12. The cut will be applied after the completion of 36 holes, the top 21 pros and ties will make their journey to the final 36 holes along with top-six amateurs and those who survive the pro cut.

A total of 32 professional golfers will test their skills for total prize money of Rs 775,000. The winner of the event will bag Rs 135000, the runner–up will earn Rs 88,000 and the third will get Rs 65000. The top 21 places and ties will earn prize money. 14 amateurs will rub shoulders with the professionals.

Top professionals Sukra Bahadur Rai, Bhuwan Nagarkoti, Jayaram Shrestha, Sanjay Lama, Dhana Thapa, Rame Thapa, and Rabi Khadka are expected to show some top-class golf over the next few days. 13th south Asian games double-gold medalist Subash Tamang will be another top contender, along with him Sadbhav Acharya, Tashi Tshring, Wangchen Dhondup and Vijay Shrestha Einhaus should bring in some great scores.

Rabindra Man Shrestha, president of NPGA said, “Performance this year has been very exhilarating both from amateurs and professionals. There has been fierce competition, which is fantastic for the growth of the sport. At the outset, I express my sincere gratitude to our sponsor Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. for their continued sponsorship to the sport.”