41 percent voter turnout till 2 pm: Election Commission

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The voter turnout under the local-level election was 41 percent throughout the country as of 2 pm on Friday, the Election Commission said.

Voting began in the local level elections at all 753 units across the country simultaneously at 7 am today. Voters are exercising their franchise at 21,955 polling centers fixed at 10,756 polling stations across the country and it will continue till 5 pm today.

The voting is taking place peacefully and in an enthusiastic manner across the country barring some sporadic incidents. Voting has been obstructed at some polling stations in Dolakha, Sarlahi, Saptari, Ramechhap, Parbat, Humla, and Bajura due to a minor dispute, EC spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel said.

He said that voting will be started soon at the polling stations where it could not take place.

Some 17.73 million voters will be electing a total of 35,221 representatives who include mayors/Chairman and deputy mayors/Vic-Chairman, ward chairs, Dalit women members, women members and open ward members.