Counting begins in 11 municipalities of Morang

File photo

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The counting of votes has started in 11 of the 17 municipalities in Morang district where local elections were held on Friday.

Counting has started in Belbari, Urlabari, Rangeli, Sunvarshi and Letang municipalities of Morang, said Leban Kashyap Adhikari, chief of the provincial election office in Biratnagar.

Similarly, other rural municipalities where the counting of votes has started are in Jahda, Dhanpalathan, Gramthan, Katahari, Kanepokhari and Miklajung.

Meanwhile, preparations are underway to start the counting of votes in the Biratnagar Metropolitan City after some time, according to an information officer at the Chief Election Office, Biratnagar, Hom Bahadur Budathoki. In Biratnagar Metropolitan City, out of 133,142 voters, 89,678 (67.35 percent) had cast their votes on Friday.