UML wins in Loghekar Damodarkund of Mustang

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: CPN-UML candidate Lopsang Chompel (Raju) Bista has been elected chairperson of Loghekar Damodarkund Rural Municipality of Mustang district.

According to the final results of the counting held at the Charang-based polling officer’s office this morning, Bista was elected Chair while Chhiring Lhamo Gurung of the same party was elected Vice-chair.

Bista got 689 votes and Vice Chair Gurung got 641 votes, according to Election Officer Nepalhari Ranabhat. Their closest rivals were Dev Bahadur Gurung of the CPN (Unified Socialist) who got 185 votes for the post of chair while Laxmi Gurung of the Nepali Congress got 225 votes for the post of vice-chair.

Likewise, Tasi Dhindu Thakuri was elected as the ward chair of ward no. 1, JIyan Tijin Gurung as chair of ward no. 3 and JIyan Chusang Gurung of ward no. 4. They are all from CPN-UML.

Out of 1,462 voters in Loghekar Damodarkund with five wards, 980 or 67.03 percent votes had been cast. Chair Bista has been elected for the second term.