CPN (Maoist Center) wins five municipals in Rolpa

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: CPN (Maoist Center) has won the election in five municipals including a municipality and NC two local levels of Rolpa district.

The CPN (Maoist Centre) has become victorious in Rolpa municipality, Thawang, Paribartan, Sunilsmriti, Madi and Lungri rural municipalities while NC in Gangadev and Runtigadhi rural municipalities.
Surendra Thapa Gharti of the CPN (Maoist Centre) has been elected mayor of Rolpa municipality by receiving 7,603 votes. His closest rival Sher Bahadur Thapa of NC secured 3,658 votes.

Similarly, Geeta Acharya of the same party won the election to the post of deputy-mayor. Acharya got 7,741 votes while her closest rival Pushpa Shrestha of the NC gathered 3,719 votes.

Out of 10 wards of Rolpa Municipality, the CPN (Maoist Centre) has won election in nine wards and NC in one ward.