NC wins Mayor, Deputy Mayor in Tarakeshwor Municipality

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The Nepali Congress has won Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts in Tarakeshwor Municipality of Kathmandu district.

According to the final results of the vote counting that conclude on Tuesday morning, NC candidate Krishna Hari Maharjan secured 11,223 votes against 7,359 polled by his nearest competitor Rameshwor Bohara from the CPN-UML.

According to election officer for the municipality, Chapala Pokharel, the mayoral candidate from the CPN (Unified Socialist) finished the race with 2,206.

Likewise, Sirjana Burlakoti has been elected on the post of Deputy Mayor by getting 10,224 votes while her nearest rival from the UML, Bhawani Dotel, obtained 7,563 and another candidate for the Deputy Mayor who was from the CPN (Maoist Center) received 2,694. The number of voters in the Tarakeshwor consisting of 11 wards is 26,702.

A total of 2,410 ballots for the mayor and 2,963 for the Deputy Mayor turned out invalid, according to the election officer.