UML wins mayor, deputy mayor posts in Birtamod Municipality

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The CPN-UML has won the election to the post of mayor and deputy mayor of Birtamod Municipality.

Pabitra Mahatara has been elected mayor while Nagendra Sangraula is deputy mayor of the municipality. Mahatara registered her victory by receiving 16,520 votes while her closest rival Bhojraj Sitaula of the Nepali Congress got 12,762 votes.

Similarly, Sangraula has been elected deputy mayor of the municipality with a wide margin of votes. He secured 15,586 votes against while his closest competitor CP Kadariya gathered 8,451 votes.

Mahatara, who was elected deputy mayor of the municipality in the local level election held in 2074 BS, has become the first woman to be elected mayor in the district