Chiribabu Maharjan secures victory as Lalitpur mayor for second term

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Chiribabu Maharjan has been elected the mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City for the second term.

CPN-UML’s Manjali Shakya emerged victorious in the deputy mayoral post in the metropolis.

Maharjan secured 42,722 votes while his close contender Hari Krishna Byanjankar of CPN-UML received 24,560 votes. Likewise, deputy mayoral candidate Shakya got 25,085 votes to register her win. Her arch-rival Baburaj Bajracharya of CPN (Maoist Centre) gathered 18, 752 votes.

NC and UML have won equal 11 ward chairpersons in LMC. CPN (Maoist Center) emerged victorious in three wards, CPN (Unified Socialist) in two wards and independent candidates in two wards.

Independent candidates Nirmal Tandukar and Ganesh KC won ward numbers 1 and 13. It took 11 days to publish the final results of the vote count in the metropolis.