Vote counting underway in three local units

As per the final results till Thursday morning, NC has secured wins in 326 municipals as UML is placed second with wins in 205 local units.

File photo

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Final results of local-level elections held in 749 local units out of 753 have been made public as of Thursday morning.

According to the Election Commission, vote counting is underway at three local levels while counting is yet to start in one municipal due to disputes between political parties.

As per the latest results, Nepali Congress (NC) has secured wins in 326 municipals. The main opposition party CPN-UML is placed second in the results tally with wins in 205 local units.

Likewise, the CPN (Maoist Center) has won in 121 municipals, Janata Samajwadi Party in 30, CPN (Unified Socialist) in 20, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party in 16, Rastriya Prajatantra Party in four, and other parties and independent candidates have secured victory in 26 municipals.

Vote counting is underway in Kathmandu Metropolitan City, Tilottama Municipality of Rupandehi, and Triyuga Municipality of Udayapur, the commission said. Independent candidate Balen Shah is confirmed to be mayor of Kathmandu metropolis as he is leading with a wide margin. Nepali Congress candidate Ram Krishna Khand is leading in Tilottama and Basata Kumar Basnet of NC in Triyuga.

The counting of votes is yet to start in Budhi Ganga Municipality of Bajura due to disputes between leaders of the Nepali Congress and UML. NC has demanded re-polling in some polling stations while UML has said that the votes should be counted.