Parliamentary committee formed to investigate against ex-FinMin Sharma starts work

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: A parliamentary committee formed to investigate allegations of budget manipulation by former Finance Minister Janardan Sharma has started its work. The first meeting of the committee is being held in Singha Durbar on Tuesday and will choose Chairperson and finalize a procedure.

Finance Sharma tendered his resignation last Wednesday after a parliamentary committee was formed to investigate accusations against him of manipulating tax rates involving outsiders to alter tax rates in the budget speech just before it was presented before the Parliament. Minister Sharma, however, has been denying any wrongdoings.

The House of Representatives had formed the committee to carry out an investigation about the involvement of unauthorized persons in course of preparing the budget for the coming fiscal year 2022/23.

The 11-member probe committee includes lawmakers Khagaraj Adhikari, Dev Prasad Gurung, Pushpa Bhusal Gautam, Pradeep Gyawali, Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal, Bimala BK, Laxman Lal Karna, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, Sarala Kumari Yadav, Sitaram Mahato, and Surendra Prasad Yadav were the members.