Seat allocation task force holding meeting today

The task force is mandated to prepare a draft of seat allocation for parliamentary and provincial polls and submit it to the top leaders of the ruling alliance.

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: The second meeting of the five-party alliance’s task force is taking place this afternoon.

The meeting scheduled to be held at 4 pm at the Prime Minister’s official residence, Baluwatar is said to be focused on preparing the modality of electoral alliance in view of the Province Assembly and Federal Parliament elections announced for coming November 20 in a single phase.

The task force will prepare a draft of the seat allocations in the election and will submit it to the top leaders of the alliance.

A meeting of the alliance’s top leaders from all five political parties held earlier formed an 11-member taskforce comprising NC General Secretary Gagan Kumar Thapa, leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula and Minister for Communications and Information Technology and party leader Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, CPN ( Maoist Center)’s Barshaman Pun and Dev Gurung.

Similarly, CPN (Unified Socialist) Vice Chair Pramesh Hamal and General Secretary Beduram Bhusal, Janata Samajbadi Nepal’s Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav and Rakam Chemjong and Rastriya Janamorcha’s Himlal Puri and Anada Sharma represent their respective parties in the taskforce.

The first meeting of the task force held on August 9 selected NC former general secretary Sitaula as its coordinator.