Nepal Live Group honors ‘Covid Champions’

Nepal Live Group honored a number of medics, health institutions and other stakeholders for their tireless contributions to Nepal’s health sector during the Covid-19 pandemic.

NL Today

  • Read Time 3 min.

Kathmandu: Nepal Live Group honored health professionals and institutions with ‘Covid Champions’ awards on Friday for their excellent contribution to the nation in a fight against the Covid-19 pandemic.

The award ceremony was held at the Kathmandu Marriott Hotel in Naxal under the theme  ‘Covid Champions’.

During the 10th ‘United Imaging Health Awards’, awards were given to Sukraraj Tropical & Infectious Disease Hospital as the best hospital, Dr Anup Bastola as the best doctor, and Dr Nira Pathak as the best laboratory professional.

Similarly, Lila Thapa, who is working at Gulmi Darbar Rural Municipality-3, was honored as the Female Community Health Volunteer, Lal Bahadur Rokaya, working at Kowang Health Post in Mustang district, with best health professional, and Ashwini Gurung, working at Bheri Hospital, with best nurse award.

Likewise, Dinesh Chapagain was honored with the best public health professional award. Nepal Ambulance Service (102) was honored for their excellent service to Covid-19 patients during the pandemic.

Similarly, Nepali Congress General Secretary and lawmaker Gagan Kumar Thapa was given a special honor for raising voices from the parliament for Covid-19 control and treatment. 

Likewise, the National Association of Rural Municipalities in Nepal and Municipal Association of Nepal (MuAN) were honored with Covid Champions special honor during the award ceremony.

Similarly, Nepal Police was honored with Covid Champions special honor for serving in the frontline for Covid-19 control. Likewise, Covid Champions special honor was handed over to Armed Police Force Hospital for service during the pandemic. 

An independent selection panel committee was formed for the nomination and finalization of the award winners. The selection panel was led and supervised by the Ministry of Health and Population.

The selection panel consisted of Dr Madan Kumar Upadhyaya, joint secretary of Health Ministry, Dr Yasodha Aryal, joint secretary of Health Ministry, Dr Lochan Karki, president of Nepal Medical Association, Dr Bhogendra Dotel, former officer at Health Ministry, and Dr Subhash Pyakurel, medical editor of Swasthya Khabar Magazine. Likewise, advisors to the selection committee were Dr Roshan Pokharel, Health Secretary, Dr Bhagawan Koirala, president of Nepal Medical Council,  and Dr Bhupendra Basnet, acting chief administrative officer of Bir Hospital. 

Speaking at the award distribution ceremony, chief guest Minister for Communications and Information Technology  Gyanendra Bahadur Karki congratulated those who were honored with the health awards. “With the tireless efforts of health professionals, people were able to get quality health services during the pandemic. They deserve appreciation from us all,” he said. Minister Karki also expressed the commitment to improving the health facilities and services of the nation.

Minister Karki congratulated Help Publication Pvt Ltd, the publisher of Nepal Live and Swasthya Khabar Patrika, for completing five years and 12 years of publication, respectively.  

Likewise, NC General Secretary Gagan Thapa expressed his respect to health professionals and other Covid frontliners for their fight to tackle the pandemic. “Through the program, I would like to remember and express my respect to Covid Heroes in the community who joined hands in the fight against the pandemic,” said Thapa.

On the occasion, Health Minister Bhawani Prasad Khapung congratulated the award winners and  appreciated the efforts made by Swasthya Khabar to felicitate the Covid heroes.

Anil Nyaupane, the chairperson of Nepal Live Group, thanked all the participants for making the event a grand success. “These awards and certificates of honors are the recognition of the dedicated and selfless efforts made by actors from various fields to save people’s lives during the times of most critical health crisis the country faced due to the pandemic,” he said. “We salute everyone who worked for the country and the people during those hard times.”