Pokhara plane crash: Nepal government forms five-member probe commission

The Nepal government forms a five-member commission of inquiry to probe the cause of the Pokhara plane crash.

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Following the crash of ATR 72-500 aircraft belonging to Yeti Airlines on Sunday morning, the government has formed a five-member investigation commission to find out the truth and facts about the crash.

An emergency meeting of the Council of Ministers held at the Prime Minister’s residence at Baluwatar immediately after the crash formed the probe commission to identify the causes of the plane accident.

The commission is mandated to submit a report along with suggestions for preventing occurrence of such accidents in the coming days.

Former Secretary Nagendra Ghimire is the convenor of the Commission, said Bishnu Poudel, the government spokesperson and Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister.

The members of the commission include retired Major General Deepak Prakash Bastola, captain Sunil Thapa and aircraft repair engineer Ekraj Jung Thapa. Joint-Secretary at the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Buddhi Sagar Lamichhane is the member-secretary of the commission. The commission has to submit the report within 45 days.

The government spokesperson said that it would make arrangements for immediately executing the suggestions contained in the report once the commission submits it.

The air crash investigation commission has been formed in accordance with the Civil Aviation Accident Investigation Regulations.