Election for Vice-President today

NL Today

  • Read Time < 1

Kathmandu: Voting for the Vice-Presidential election is taking place today. The three candidates in the race are Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) from the CPN (UML), Mamata Jha from the Janamat Party, and Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav from the Janata Samajbadi Party. 

The voting will take place at Lhotse Hall of the Federal Parliament Building in New Baneshwor from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm. According to Assistant Election Officer Amrita Kumari Sharma, all the preparations for the voting have been completed. Separate voting centers have been designated for members of the Federal Parliament and Province Assembly. Two types of ballot papers have been printed for the Vice-Presidential election-2079. 

The ballot for Federal Parliament members is red in color, while the ballot for Province Assembly members is green. The names and photos of the candidates have been printed on the ballot papers. The weightage of a vote cast by a Federal Parliament member is 79, while the weightage of a vote cast by a Province Assembly member is 48. There are 332 voters from the Federal Parliament and 550 voters from the Province Assembly participating in the election. 

Arrangements have been made to count the votes shortly after the voting ends, said Sharma. The Vice President shall be assigned to look after affairs in the absence of the President. The tenure of the Vice President is five years. This is the third Vice Presidential election since the country adopted the federal democratic republic system in 2008.